USB Hacking

Here’s an early preview of USB-host support for native (Ndless) TI-Nspire programs. The TI-Nspire OS uses a customized version of the *BSD USB stack (and by the way does not respect the terms of the BSD license  which  requires that “redistributions in binary form [to] reproduce the [*BSD] copyright”). This means that writing community USB drivers with *BSD usbdi API should be possible, and porting existing *BSD drivers much easier.

The demo only requires a few lines of code. It runs in background and just displays the vendor and product info as returned by usbd_devinfo() at the top of the screen (you may need to zoom in to see it) when the USB device is plugged in. I unfortunately cannot take any video, my camera would make it too blurry.

I have successfully tested a flash drive, a mouse dongle and my old Sony eBook Reader. Strangely my Android phone wouldn’t advertise itself, maybe because 10 years separate the old TI-Nspire USB stack and the one used by the phone…

15 thoughts on “USB Hacking

    1. parkerlreed, it’s unfortunately not yet in a releasable state. I’m working on a simple driver which should be available for download once read.
      Also you’ll need a special mini-B to mini-A USB adapter.

      1. Thanks for the reply. Heh the adapter is the easy part. Too many cables than I know what to do with. Half of a USB extender and half a USB link cable and I’m good to go.

  1. I’m sorry to bother you, but i was just wondering, will there be an alpha/beta release comming soon? Because mostly the thing im just searching for is a different place to store the bigger files like with gpsp.

    1. Caser: I have put aside the project not having enough bandwidth to work on it.
      It is currently only usable by developers, not well integrated with Ndless, unstable, and dirty but if you are interested by the source code to try your own hacks I can share it with you.

  2. ExtendeD, I can understand that your busy and don’t have time for the project. Instead of USB Drives, could you make a USB hack for a keyboard- like just the letters and numbers? Or do you know anyone who is working on something similar?

    1. Integrating an USB keyboard with the OS event management would indeed be much more easier. I don’t know anyone working on this, but I’ll soon add the required syscalls to Ndless and the Ndless SDK, and release my proof of concept to make it happen.

Leave a Reply

